The Millennial Method: Wait-Tolerance

Last night, my brother-in-law and I were discussing why people my age tend to not use restaurant reservation tools like OpenTable and Bookings.com. At first, I was a little bit offended that companies like this don’t seem to care very much about my age group. Then he made an interesting observation:

20-somethings don’t usually use reservation tools because they are willing to wait forever if it means saving money.

“Is this true?” I thought to myself, “What kinds of things do I do to save money?” I’ve since remembered all the miserable experiences I’ve put myself through just to save a few bucks.

For example:

  • I only bought one textbook my last semester of college (and I was an English major).
  • I woke up at 3:30 a.m. every other day for an entire month just so I could catch the cheapest flights in Europe.
  • I walked 12 miles in one day while touring London to avoid buying an all-day metro pass.
  • I’ve eaten too many $.60 hotdogs from Sheetz.
  • I trolled Stubhub every five minutes for six hours to get cheap Taylor Swift tickets (two years in a row).
  • If I have meetings scheduled all day, I often skip lunch and wait to eat dinner at 11:00 p.m. so I don’t have to buy food out.
  • I like free pens.

Apparently I’m not the only one who has noticed my extremely high “wait-tolerance.” My sister has taken advantage of my willingness to wait several times in the last few months. In September, I stood in line at AT&T for over two hours just to exchange an iPhone 6 for my sister. I also waited over three hours to see Grumpy Cat in San Francisco with her as well.

In an age where millennials are constantly criticized for their impatience and spoiled attitudes, I think it’s interesting to note how willing we really are to wait when it means saving some cold, hard cash.

Leave a Reply

